Premed 101 Forums

Would It Ever Be Worth Only Writing The Cars Section Of The Mcat?

I am aware that I would take a hit in the "global assessment of academic merit" portion, but as a mechanical engineering student would it be worth all the extra time it would take to learn a topics I know little about? Lets say I had to spend a extra year studying traditional pre med courses, could I instead either do a masters, or save some money and spend a lot of time working / volunteering and improve my application more than by having a respectable MCAT score?

I'm sorry if this is a dumb question, but I truly feel torn. A huge part of me would like to just write the CARS section so I can apply this summer (I am in my third year) so I can get a feel for where I stand as an applicant, maybe even getting a chance to experience the interview process.

Thanks for any advice. 

Damn don't do it... Your overall score would never be high enough to get an interview and I'm pretty sure they will look at all of your mcat scores when you apply in the future.

Instead, maybe apply at schools that don't require the mcat?

not only would it appear like you're taking the easiest way out, but it will be a surefire way to reduce your chances at any other medical school to near zero (including u of c if they ever decide to implement a minimum overall score).

Thanks for the info, I've only looked at UofA and UofC because I figure those were my best shots. I didn't know most med schools looked at more than just your first score.

This is my dilemma too.. I think if you have no choice then you should just do the CARS and apply to Calgary and Mac. That being said you mentioned you have a CGPA of 3.7 which will not make the cut off if you are OOP for Alberta. 

I was trying to search and see if anyone on this forum actually just did CARS and got in, but I haven't found any.. I'm sure people do it though and someone must have gotten in too.