Premed 101 Forums

Feeling hopeless (master's student, damaged undergrad)

Hey folks, 

I have a situation, and was wondering what're my chances ( I am open to out of country ideas)

I did my undergraduate degree in the sciences, really late I am 30yo. In my first two years, I had a really really hard time adjusting to university courses and my GPA was horrendous. I thought that was it, any chances I had at become an emergency doctor down the toilet. I gave up on it and thought to just finish my bachelors and get a job. In my third year, I drastically improved and my GPA went up (got 3.7/4.0 that year). And in fourth year I managed to get a 3.9/4.0. I took a year off after second year to get some science-work experience (in our school you get course credit for this) and worked as a lab tech in a health lab. I was good at research so I applied for a Master's in medical sciences and am now doing research in a cardiology lab at Schulich school of Medicine (Western). I got a scholarship and am getting awarded at conferences and am doing well in research. But...in the medical school I see doctors all the time, and its just a reminder that was the career I wanted. 

I don;t want to give up on being an emergency doctor. I am studying for my MCAT at the moment to write the exam in May.