Premed 101 Forums

Question Regarding Leave of Absence

etAl

Hello everyone!

I am currently an undergraduate student, and was considering taking a year-long leave of absence after my second year in order to a do an internship in health-policy. The internship would be at a research center near my university, so I would still be able to continue all of my commitments.

I was wondering how this leave of absence would be considered on my applications - in other words, would it make a any less of a competitive applicant, or be viewed negatively?

Thank you for the help everyone (this forum has really been a blessing) :)

The opportunity provides growth. There is no prescription for admission to med school, but more than that I would suggest doing things that are enriching, fulfilling, and that genuinely interest you. You can spin anything as a strength for med applications, but that really shouldn't be what it's about, in my opinion. Cool opportunity! 

15 hours ago, Borborygmi said:

The opportunity provides growth. There is no prescription for admission to med school, but more than that I would suggest doing things that are enriching, fulfilling, and that genuinely interest you. You can spin anything as a strength for med applications, but that really shouldn't be what it's about, in my opinion. Cool opportunity! 

Thank you for your response! 

I definitely agree with what you're saying, and that is one of the reasons I'm seriously considering this opportunity. 

My only concern is with how admissions committees may view my Leave of Absence. I understand it won't affect my eligibility, but, in your experience, would gaps in transcripts/taking one year off for an internship be viewed negatively for a candidate?

Thank you for your help! 

2 hours ago, Bambi said: