Premed 101 Forums

McGill OOP

I'd like to practice in Ontario, and do my residency in Ontario. Am I going to be at a significant disadvantage if I go to McGill? I'm an Ontario resident and have a few Ontario offers.

I just feel like there are a lot of benefits of going to McGill as an OOP (which is such a rare case, many likely don't have the option to consider it). Is the home school advantage so significant that I couldn't get a residency at UofT or UBC if I went to McGill? How are CaRMS apps selected? Is it highly subjective (ie reference letters, and who you know) or more objective and quantifiable (grades, or test scores?)

Basically, I'm heavily leaning towards McGill, but don't want to think I've made a mistake simply because my friends are choosing in province schools (when they simply don't have the option to choose McGill, even).

37 minutes ago, canada747 said:

I'd like to practice in Ontario, and do my residency in Ontario. Am I going to be at a significant disadvantage if I go to McGill? I'm an Ontario resident and have a few Ontario offers.

I just feel like there are a lot of benefits of going to McGill as an OOP (which is such a rare case, many likely don't have the option to consider it). Is the home school advantage so significant that I couldn't get a residency at UofT or UBC if I went to McGill? How are CaRMS apps selected? Is it highly subjective (ie reference letters, and who you know) or more objective and quantifiable (grades, or test scores?)

Basically, I'm heavily leaning towards McGill, but don't want to think I've made a mistake simply because my friends are choosing in province schools (when they simply don't have the option to choose McGill, even).