Premed 101 Forums

PT Private Practice

I'm curious to know from PT students and recent grads if they plan to open up a private practice after graduating or a few years after practicing? I've been speaking to PTs in different provinces and some of them are making really good money (~250-300K before taxes) owning 2 practices. But the primary concern is that they might not be able to sell those practices down the road since new PTs or decently experienced PTs aren't interested in purchasing practices. Why is that the case? I know it depends on location, patient volume, overhead, etc. but I'm curious why more people don't go into ownership instead of working for someone or the hospital when you can pull high 100K/low 200K salaries post tax? 

There are a lot of things you need to consider when running your own clinic. It involves a lot more of the business aspect, and you need be an experienced PT. The owner at the PT clinic I have been working at for 3 years currently makes over 250-300k+ annually and all the PTs/RMTs that work there make 150k+. However, when I talk to the owner he says he would have never have went into owning his own practice if he knew the amount of stress it would cause him. He said if he could start over he would in a heart beat and would have never went into private practice. Unfortunately for him, his fathers practice passed down to him, and all his fathers' clients. My PT mentor who works there 4 days a week and makes over 100k+, is stress free, and enjoys working there everyday, whereas the owner is the opposite. Yes you can make a lot more owning your own practice, but it is not for everyone.

It's hard to make a generalization off a few cases. Personally, I've entertained the thought of entrepreneurship at some point, as that's what I primarily did pre-PT school and loved it.