Premed 101 Forums

Switched programs in first year and am taking courses a year below my year level?

So I am a UWaterloo Student going into my 3rd of year of University in the fall, and I switched from Health Studies to Kinesiology in first year. As a result, I am basically 1.5 semesters behind playing catchup, yet my quest profile still says I am a 3rd year student, so there's that. Yet in the fall, I will be taking more than 3 courses that are at the second year level. I am at crossroads because from what I understand most medical schools require you to have at least 3 of your courses per semester be at the year level of your study. Am I basically ineligible for all Canadian Med Schools now?

Well, it seems to me that you won’t graduate until your 6th year? If that is the case, in your last two years, you will have taken 3rd & 4th year courses. Write to med iCal schools to find out if this is okay. Otherwise, it seems you will need another undergraduate degree.

1 hour ago, Gurvir said:

So I am a UWaterloo Student going into my 3rd of year of University in the fall, and I switched from Health Studies to Kinesiology in first year. As a result, I am basically 1.5 semesters behind playing catchup, yet my quest profile still says I am a 3rd year student, so there's that. Yet in the fall, I will be taking more than 3 courses that are at the second year level. I am at crossroads because from what I understand most medical schools require you to have at least 3 of your courses per semester be at the year level of your study. Am I basically ineligible for all Canadian Med Schools now?

I know Western has the 3/5 rule, but I don't know if all Canadian medical schools do! It really depends on the school.