Premed 101 Forums

Anesthesiology Job Market

I'm in 1st year med and thinking a lot about pursuing anesthesiology. From what I've seen on HealthmatchBC and other job posting sites, the job market in anesthesia in BC particularly is AMAZING, there are dozens of jobs all over BC and other provinces seem generally good as well. There is even a new "clinical fellowship" program to bring in American anesthesiologists to fill vacancies. Does anybody know why the job market in BC is so great?

Also, I'm concerned that if it's as great as it is now, then it might become saturated by the time I am done training. (especially if we are importing American anesthesiologists). Does gas have a boom/bust job market pattern? From posts on this forum it seems it has been generally good over the past 10 yrs or so. Just looking for any opinions/thoughts on the matter.

I know in Ontario it is very good, you can work at small or medium centers without fellowship. Large academic hospitals vary. 

Anesthesia has a broad practice scope that most early medical students don't think of. For example outside of the typical OR anesthesia, they can do pain medicine, labor and delivery, dental anesthesia, even ICU with the appropriate fellowship. 

From what I heard, in US anesthesia job market is also reasonable, of course varies by geography but it's certainly not over saturated and renumeration overall is on par, or better than here. So I wouldn't be surprised if BC has difficulty attracting US anesthesiologists.

Remuneration in BC for anesthesia is much lower than in other provinces, particularly compared to neighbouring AB, which is why they lose a lot of their trainees there. Most specialties are cyclical in terms of the job market, and anesthesia is no different. It is impossible to predict what it will be like 5 or 10 years, but in general the market across Canada is fairly good at the moment.

12 hours ago, shikimate said: