Premed 101 Forums

Research Experience- Helpful For CaRMS?

Hi everyone! I am a second year medical student in Toronto and as summer is approaching, I'm starting to think about how I want to use my break. Almost out of a force of habit, I decided to apply to some research positions this summer, as I vaguely recalled students mentioning that research would help with CaRMS applications. However, I'm realizing that this is going to be one of my last opportunities for a true break before clerkship starts, and so I want to make sure that any research position I end up taking is worth my time. Do people typically use research PIs as CaRMS referees? I have a summer research offer from an amazing accomplished clinician scientist who works in pediatrics, one of the main specialities I am interested in. If I don't do an elective with her, would it not be wise to use her as one of my CaRMS referees (even if my project is primarily clinical and I do observerships with her)? Does research look good on a CV when applying through CaRMS? The main fields I am interested in are pediatrics, neurology, and internal medicine at the moment, but if I end up wanting to apply for more competitive specialities (ER, derm, optho, etc.), would research experience help with those?

I also just need to get a job this summer to make some money before clerkship starts, so if anything I'd rather do something I was comfortable with and really enjoy, as I have previous research experience (compared to like working at Tim Hortons or retail). But if that's the only reason why I'd be doing research, I'd definitely want to do part-time work/discuss a shorter duration for the summer with my potential PI soon (in order to maximize relaxation and traveling). 

Thank you all so much in advance!! This whole CaRMS process is so confusing and I'd appreciate any insights :)