Premed 101 Forums

How competitive are Ped & Internal Med?

I'm a first-year med student who doesn't know much about the CaRMS application process or the comepetitiveness of each specialty. Although I'm not sure what I want to specialize in, I'm fairly interested in pediatrics & internal medicine. Can somebody please tell me how competitive these programs are?

Thanks! :)

Hi, I was also interested in both peds and IM as a student. I ended up applying to both. I'm now in IM although I know that I was also ranked high enough by at least one peds program to get in had I chosen to.

It's hard to comment on how competitive a specialty is because it changes from year to year, and from location to location. But, as a general trend, it seems that the more competitive specialties are often the subspecialty surgeries (such as ophthamology, urology, orthopedics, ENT). Often primary/secondary care specialties (such as family medicine, peds, IM, psychiatry) are less competitive. I believe that IM has the second largest number of spots available second to FM (and proportionally less applicants:spots than some of the more competitive specialties).

If you're not picky about spending residency in a particular location, and you're a decent student that others can get along with, and don't have any failures recorded on your transcript, it's highly likely that you'll be able to get into a peds or IM residency, I think.

Peds and IM are often popular because you'll be able to choose a number of different paths to subspecialize in later if you want such as cardiology, GI, nephrology, oncology, hematology, etc. Alternatively, you can also choose to be a generalist and practice in general pediatrics or general internal medicine.

Hi there,

Regarding this wee statement, "...and you're a decent student that others can get along with...", during the CaRMS process is this factor largely assessed via the ITER reports within your MSPR (Medical Student Performance Record) and your interview?