Premed 101 Forums

Chemistry degree good idea?

Newbie1234

Hey all,

I'm in my 2nd year and I'm interested in pursuing a chem degree. Although I AM interested in the subject due to its mixture of math, concepts and problem solving, organic chem was one of my lower marks last year. So my question is, are those other courses in chemistry (analytical, inorganic, physical) anything like the straight memorization involved in organic chem? Any chem majors out there?

First of all, organic chemistry is NOT straight memorization. It is a lot of qualitative problem solving that you experience in the introductory course. However, if you are really are into the math and PHYSICS, then maybe pursuing a Chemistry degree may be for you. I love Biochemistry and Organic Chemistry, however, I took those last year so I am currently enrolled in physical and inorganic chemistry. Let's just say I am not having the best year...in fact, I'd say this is the worst year with those two courses being listed as 2 and 3 as the reasons why.

I am upper level Biochem courses and I love those, so it honestly just depends on the person. If you are into that stuff, go for it, but remember Chemistry is actually pretty intense. If you are not interested in that stuff, it will make your life miserable.

Yes, newbie, there's lots of chem out there for you - more for you than for the organics lovers, I think. While I'm not a chem major, I have taken more chem than I care to have seen. I am currently enrolled in a quantitative analytical chem class (memorization and math). I have also taken advanced transition metal chem which was much more of the conceptual learning you have in organic chem, yet still considered inorganic (all about bonding of transition metals, chelation, energy states, etc.). This course is still primarily memorization. The labs were fun though - playing with colored shiny stuff - red! green! yellow!