Premed 101 Forums

Master's 2 Med

Hello

I am currently an undergrad student. My undergrad GPA is not stellar because I did horrible in 3rd year (had multiple surgeries). I am OK with the fact that I won't secure an interview despite a 35+ MCAT score. I am thinking of applying to medical schools after my master's. Just a few questions. Is my undergrad GPA forever to haunt me? (suppose I end up with a 3.5 after fourth year). Does good performance in MSc tackle poor undergrad GPA provided I get sufficient publications/references?

Will I be taken as a more determined applicant if I apply after gaining masters? As an inside scoop I do know UfT prefers it's own post-graduate students for medicine than others.

Thanks

Hey,

My advice for what it is worth...have a look at the requirements for each school you are considering. Make sure you will meet the minimum undergrad GPA for grad applicants (some have these but I have no idea what range they might fall into). Also, make sure the schools you want to apply to actually have a grad applicant stream to apply to.

I completed grad school but I entered med school via the undergrad stream, so I cannot comment specifically on the grad applicant process.

But I suspect that getting in via the grad stream is a bit trickier than the undergrad stream given that you will be judged on grad productivity (scholarships, conference presentations, publications etc..) which is possibly somewhat of a subjective process, as well how "productive"you are depends largely on your field and what lab you are in. Some fields lend themselves well to lots of publications in relatively short periods of time and others don't. Some supervisors are great at getting those publications submitted and out there and others drag their feet. And it is possible to work very hard for 2 years of your Masters (if that is what you plan on doing) and not get any publications at all.