Premed 101 Forums

Any chance for IMG applying to undergrad?

• 4 weeks later...

Hey Sergie,

I'm afraid I don't have much in terms of useful information, but I just wanted to say that I admire your perseverence. It takes a very strong person to follow this as you have!

The thing with Canadian schools is, grades grades grades. There are so many over qualified Canadian applicants, so you have to have above a 3.6 atleast to be competitive. The MCAT isn't as important for most Canadian schools, as long as you meet the cut-offs you should be fine. As for experience, what matters most is what you learned from those experiences and how you present them in your application.

I wish you all the best in your quest!

Hi everyone,

thanks in advance to all who find time to reply.

I am a foreign medical graduate (general surgery internship), immigrated to Canada in 2000. I decicded to apply to a medschool again, so, I took all the prereq courses again, and now I am working on MCAT

I am going to apply to McGill, MacMaster, Ottawa and Queen's for 2008 entry.

:rolleyes:

It seems that my extracurriculars look very weak - only present hospital volunteering. On the other hand, I have many things done, but back to my country. Since no refferences in English are possible, means nothing to talk about?

Also, should I mention that I am married and have a child, which means to have a fool-time mom job? Or it would be better not to mention it at all?

Moreover, there is a doubt whether to talk about my pure immigrational experience as my working experience: I've spent a few years (in total) as a general worker on the sewing manufactures trying to survive, learning languages and saving money to pay for prereqs?.. Looks pretty bad, I know.

I also wonder, is there any IMGs who are applying to the undergrad medschools this year and having similar questions? Or an IMG who had an expirience with the application processes last year... What special about IMGs anyway?