Premed 101 Forums

Tough choices, do my PhD or try again for MD school

I'm in a tough bind with the decisions that I have to make. I completed an undergrad degree but my gpa was not that good <3.0 but enough to go to graduate school in occupational therapy which I did very well in >3.5. I've since started practicing but also continued my schooling and about 1 year away from finishing my masters of public health and thesis with gpa >3.7. I have always had an interest in medicine but also research and like many clinicians would like to merge the two in my work once I'm all done which could be decades from now at my rate. I enjoy research but the patient interaction is something that would be integral to my job. I love that part. I can't separate the two and would like to ultimately be a physician that does research.

I don't know if I should complete a PhD, hoping that some schools look highly upon it or try applying until I get in? I've been told that a PhD will not boost my chances that much in terms of securing admission and it is a serious commitment. Am I wasting my time applying to medicine in Canada. Some have suggested I go to the Caribbean but I know all the pitfalls that await me if I go there. I rather stay at home and go to school here. Any thoughts? Thanks. oh yeah, my MCAT is 30 Q.

What would your cumulative GPA be around? Unfortunately, your post is a bit vague. Another HUGE factor is your life experiences. You sound like you certainly have a few good ones. Share a little more info on those two areas and I could give you a better idea. Your chances are probably better than you think! :D