Premed 101 Forums

Question about MDs, PhDs, scientific research, etc

Ok I have a few questions and I wanted to post them here.

-What is the purpose of the MD/PhD program? I heard it is to bridge the gap between scientists and physicians, but in what manner?

-for those who do their MD, can they participate in scientific research later on as post-docs?

-I heard that picking up a PhD is possible in residency, is this true?

-I have seen one researcher who is a research scientist and is in anatomical pathology, how is that possible?

I have very little knowledge about all this and it would be great if someone can shed some light on the situation!

-What is the purpose of the MD/PhD program? I heard it is to bridge the gap between scientists and physicians, but in what manner?

With regards to the combined M.D./Ph.D. programs, this involves getting both an M.D. degree and a Ph.D. degree. Both the M.D. and the Ph.D. are completely separate degrees. The difference between the combined program and taking each degree separately is that with the combined program you typically spend a few years in medical school, then a few years as a graduate student, then return to finish medical school, and then spend several years finishing your graduate degree. An alternative to a combined program is to complete a Ph.D. and then complete an M.D. instead of switching between the two programs every few years. Whether the degrees are obtained separately or as part of a combined program doesn't really matter and will generally take roughly the same amount of time in total. Although there are advantages and disadvantages to either route you end up with both an M.D. and a Ph.D. in both cases.