Premed 101 Forums

Intl student interviews/acceptances stats

meshuga3

Hi,

I'm an international student with a very strong interest in remaining in Canada- I moved up here six and a half years ago to do an undergrad and have not gone home yet- in fact, I've stuck around to do a masters and to get engaged to my (Canadian) girlfriend. (I'm from the States originally.)

I applied to several schools in Canada thinking that my chances of getting in were slim at best, but I recently got an interview offer from McGill, which happened to be my top choice out of all the Canadian and US schools I applied to. So now I'm nervous, and I've been trying to find any sort of stat describing how many international students interview versus how many get in. Can anyone help out? I realize knowing a stat won't automatically make me a steller interviewee, but it will give me something to hold on to when I start freaking out that I'm going to be rejected.

Thanks a lot if you can help.

Look at your own risk. These numbers are not comforting. Though McGill is one of the few schools that give internationals a shot the competition is high.

This link has the number of spots at the bottom of the page. The number of accepted internationals has gone down and the OOP has gone up this year.

http://www.medicine.mcgill.ca/admissions/criteria/selection_categories_en.htm

The link at the bottom will show you how many apply each year in each category (the numbers are off for both OOP and IP for recent years, the double cohort thing...)

Again, thanks for the reply. I should have been more direct, I guess- I have an interview at McGill. I'm mostly just wondering what my chances are post-interview (i.e. do they invite 40 INTL students? 50?). Must learn to be clearer in posting.

Last year was 41 IP interviews.