Premed 101 Forums

Please hear me out! Problem with my own father...

Hi everyone!

I am an undergrad student at UofT, and becoming a doctor was my dream since I was very young. Things have not been so smooth between me and my father. I grew up in a strict, VERY traditional Korean family so my father giving me his "advise" has been a casual thing.

I am now 23 years old and I believe I can handle things by myself. Ever since I got into university, I decided to be less dependent on my parents and for 4 years I'd been working part-time during school to support myself (of course, with aid of BCSAP).

I'm currently on 4th yearm and if it went as it should have went I should be graduating this coming May. As many of you might already know, university-study doesn't always go as planned. Many goes for 5th year and other 6 years +. I, myself, had relatively lower GPA compared to competitive applicants, so I decided to stay at the university for at least another 2 years to boost my GPA. During those 2 years, I also wanted to travel to other countries to broaden my horizon, study to score higher on the MCAT (got 10PS, 9BS, 8VR, and Q on WS), do more volunteerings, and A LOT MORE! I just waned to seize every opportunity there is out there before I begin medical school application.

But when I told my father about my "2 years of victory lab" plan, he thought I was being extremely ridiculous. We had 3 hours of argument over the phone. I tried to be patient as much as I can and to explain how much I wanted to be a doctor and how passionate I was. I also told him how taking extra years at the universiy would be essential for my medical school applcation.