Premed 101 Forums

US GPA conversions

Rach

I did my undergraduate degree in the US and am waiting on the grade conversions that OMSAS will give me. Does anyone have any clue how they handle these US letter grades and GPAs?

My GPA for my undergrad degree was 3.67 in the US and now I have been in Ontario undergrad courses (Guelph) for 1.5 years with a 3.87 GPA. Any idea how much the 3.67 will hurt my chances given that its from the US?

At the school I went to the the States they also only listed letter grades on my transcript. The problem then was that the university had a grading system where > 92% was an 'A' and any grades in the 80's was considering a 'B' ... etc etc.

So now OMSAS converts my grades as A = 4.0 and B = 3.0 ... BUT I had to get 85% to get a 'B' ....

At a Canadian University (i.e. U of G) 85% = 'A' ... but my American 85% = 'B' ... therefore I lose BIG TIME (like a bad currency exchange)

I hope you have better luck than I do ....

Hey Classic,

They already told you what your converted grade is? I had my transcript sent out months ago and I still have not heard from them!

Since you already have the experience, what do you think they'll do with my US undergraduate grades? In my school, we didn't do 4.0 grade system. My average is 86.44% out of 98%. Any thoughts?

Hey Classic,

They already told you what your converted grade is? I had my transcript sent out months ago and I still have not heard from them!

Since you already have the experience, what do you think they'll do with my US undergraduate grades? In my school, we didn't do 4.0 grade system. My average is 86.44% out of 98%. Any thoughts?

I would assume that works to your advantage since the problem we have is that the GPA don't reflect the high % we might have gotten. But with only %, maybe they will give you the more lenient GPA scores that are used here.... Either way I don't see how they can screw you over with % marks.