Premed 101 Forums

LMCC Exam Prep

My advice for studying for the LMCC is do not spend too much time studying and definitely do not spend money on extra review book or practice exams.

I studied for less than 2 weeks total. Basically I read through Toronto Notes. I spent one day on Psyc, two days on peds, two days on ObGyn, one day on community/public health. The rest of the time I did practice tests. We had lots of old tests handed down from previous years. I didn't specifically study medicine or surgery, I just reviewed what I thought I was weak on based on my practice tests. Remember that internal medicine is 1/6 of the exam, so it's pretty low yield to study it, whereas psyc and community health are each 1/6 so are pretty high yield.

A good 30% of the exam is totally random stuff that you would never know regardless of how long you studied. There is seriously no way you can fail this exam unless you slept through all of med school or have little to no understanding of english.

Ollie is correct.

If you have a pulse, speak fluent English (if you are taking the English version), and are on track to graduate from a Canadian med school, you'll do fine. There was pretty minimal emphasis on preparing for this exam at UBC, and I think I and my classmates had no problem with it at all.

I really think this exam presents much more of a hurdle for the international-trained physicians, particularly those people who have been practising physicians in other countries, and therefore are being examined on multiple areas outside their specialty.

Definitely don't buy any practice exams for this. The one thing I would recommend is figuring out the epidemiology/biostatistics stuff. There's some book out there that covers this pretty well; hopefully someone who has taken the exam more recently remembers the name of it and the author. A lot of those sorts of questions seemed to come near verbatim from that book.

Ian