Premed 101 Forums

The Cooking Corner

Hello Premed101ers,

As a nice little diversion, I thought maybe we could use this thread to talk about favorite recipes and foods! I must not be the only foodie out there, right??

Anyway I thought I'd kick this off with a super easy recipe that I tend to make a lot, especially when I'm studying as it's filling and delicious! This recipe is from the New York Times' Dining and Wine section (which is just fab by the way!)

DSCN2316-1.JPG

Roasted Broccoli With Shrimp

2 pounds broccoli, cut into bite-size florets

4 tablespoons ( 1/4 cup) extra virgin olive oil

1 teaspoon whole coriander seeds

1 teaspoon whole cumin seeds

1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt

1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/8 teaspoon hot chili powder

1 pound large shrimp, shelled and deveined

1 1/4 teaspoons lemon zest (from 1 large lemon)

Lemon wedges, for serving.

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a large bowl, toss broccoli with 2 tablespoons oil, coriander, cumin, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon pepper and chili powder. In a separate bowl, combine shrimp, remaining 2 tablespoons oil, lemon zest, remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt and remaining 1/2 teaspoon pepper.

2. Spread broccoli in a single layer on a baking sheet. Roast for 10 minutes. Add shrimp to baking sheet and toss with broccoli. Roast, tossing once halfway through, until shrimp are just opaque and broccoli is tender and golden around edges, about 10 minutes more. Serve with lemon wedges, or squeeze lemon juice all over shrimp and broccoli just before serving.

Yield: 4 servings.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/14/dining/141arex.html?ref=dining

• Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply

That doesn't look appetizing but looks can be deceiving I guess. When I was cutting, all I was eating was chicken breast, broccoli, tuna, flax/olive oil, whey protein - effective, 30 lbs off in 2 months with 90% retention in gains. But that's why I cringe at the sight of broccoli.