Premed 101 Forums

Another non trad - any nursing majors out there

Hey everyone,

Newbie here - first time posting.

I will be completing my first UG degree in June. My GPA is superlow - 2.9-3.0ish

I have looked over alot of the posts and from what I have gathered I will be doing a second UG degree. I was looking into Nursing and there just doesn't seem to be much info out there.How is the nursing program like? Anyone got any experience? Should I choose something else like Kines/Psych?

I know you guys have probably gotten tonnes of posts like these. But I am just i dire need of advice. Anything.

Haven't taken MCAT yet, 22 years old, and I am thinking I'll be 25 if not 26 when I actually get in. (Took a long time to decide this is what I want for sure - late bloomer :)

Thanks

My first degree is in health science. The reason why I think my marks are down is because I have never given my 100% to school work. Instead of doing I stress alot. 90% Stress and 10% work. Other reasons too, self esteem, not believing in self. Other people have always looked down on me but I guess it is because I never gave people proof that I could do it.

But now I believe I can do it. I am just unsure as to what my second UG should be. I understand only I can decide but would still love any suggestions or what other people are doing.

It's kind of frustrating, I know this is what I want to do but now I have to wait at least 2-3 years before I can apply. Should I work on the side as well while I do my second undergrad. I have learnt my lesson and hear about people doing both all the time but they just manage their time well, so I think I could do it. Any thoughts.

I have another question. After this year I will have a B.Sc. If I do my second degree in a paramedic program at a college, would med schools consider that as my second undergrad or no?