Premed 101 Forums

Need honest opinion

Guest LobusDexter

Guest LobusDexter

I'm wondering if someone could please give me a little advice here. I was a MUN student for several years, but I was in and out of programs, left now and then to work, and finally finished for good as a third-year undeclared student! There were some good excuses for the unsettled behaviour, but a few bad ones as well. My grades weren't anything to be desired! There were 2 unsuccessful courses, a few drops, and the rest ranged from low C's to one or two A's. I have a poor GPA there of 2.48.

However, I have since gone on to have an excellent career as a pilot and an officer with the Canadian Forces, am completing a BSc (Human Sciences) at another school (and will graduate there with a 4.0 GPA), and I hope to complete a Master's if time permits - all while I hold this position in the Forces. I volunteer with the Salvation Army helping those less fortunate, and am also considering a trip with Missionary Aviation Fellowship who offers aid to the third world. Outside all of this, I enjoy a lot of extracurricular atcivities - sports, travel, hobbies, music, and more (but this is already long enough!).

So my questions are: With my history @ MUN, do I have any possible chance on earth of ever entering medical school? Would it help if I applied as a student sponsored by the CF? And what, if anything, can I do to better prepare myself for applying?

I am so passionate about becoming a doctor, and helping those in need - I'll do what I can! Your opinions are greatly appreciated. And please, don't worry about "dashing my dream"! If in your opinion there's no chance of me getting in, please let me know.

Thank you.

Guest Scared in the Woods

Hey, sounds like you'd qualify fine. I completed a first degree with terrible grades, then regrouped and completed a second honours four year degree in two years with better grades and received interviews at Queen's and UWO.