Premed 101 Forums

I am confused about the path leading to medical school!

WorkStudyWork

Hello, first time poster here. I'm a Quebec CEGEP student and will be finishing my science program in May 2011. I have never been sure as to whether or not I would prefer to go to medical school or not. Either way, my R-Score is below 34 due to my not-good-enough results that I obtained in my first session. This probably means I am not going to be joining what is called Pre-Med, but I have to ask what is Pre-med exactly?

Correct me if I am wrong. The way I see it, once you finish high school or CEGEP, you join an undergraduate program of your choice that does not affect in any way your application to medical school, right? This means I can join biochemistry at McGill with a normal R-Score ( Heck, even a 30 R-Score should be accepted at that program, right? ) and then finish that program with a good GPA and be accepted in Med School.

If this is all correct, then what the heck is Pre-med? What does Pre-med have that other undergraduate science programs don't have, and does it kill my chances of going to Med School if I don't do Pre-Med?

Thanks for answering!

Pre-med is only for students that got accepted into medicine straight out of cegep. It consists of basic university level science courses (as well as other courses such as electives) and is designed to put all students on par in terms of scientific knowledge before they enter the actual medical program.

However, if you are not accepted straight out of cegep, you can always apply to an undergraduate program (any that interests you) and upon completion of this program (3-years generally in length) you will be "qualified" to apply as a university student to McGill's M.D.CM program.

As you said, your R-score after your 3 years of undergrad is disregarded and they look only at your GPA. Also, most undergraduate programs do not require higher than a 30 r-score to get into.