Premed 101 Forums

Do cegep marks count at the university of ottawa?

Guest allycat03

Guest allycat03

Hi,

I am an out-of-province student and I currently trying to decide if I should even apply to the university of ottawa. I have not been able to find any information on the WGPA required for non ontario residents. In addition, I have been a poor student in the past, so the situation seems very grim.

I am currently a Graduate student in Biology. I did the WGPA caluculation for graduate students (I meet the criteria) and my WGPA was 3.81. I have all of the volunteer/extracurricular stuff. Unfortunately I flunked out of cegep (as in I failed an entire semester, 5 classes). I can't apply to medicine in Quebec because they always look at the cegep mark (it can count up to 60% of the GPA calculation) so I am not even bothering. I have never had the nerve to send off a med school application, because I am afraid admissions will look at my cegep transcript and laugh. If anyone knows anything about this situation I would really, really appreciate some advice. Thank you for your time.

Guest medicator007

Allycat03,

I can't speak for Ottawa, nor the other 3 schools in Quebec. But to the best of my knowledge as long as you have all of your pre-requisites succesfully completed McGill does not take into account your CEGEP transcript in CGPA calculation when it comes to application to the 4-year program.

Any further questions feel free to post them in the McGill forum (don't wanna clutter up the space for my colleagues from Bytown)

Medicator007

Guest Laurent27

Hey Allycat03,

Ottawa evaluates your last three undergraduate years in a formula.

yr1 GPAx1

yr2 GPAx2

yr3 GPAx3

Divide the total by 6 and it will give you your WGPA

don't forget, they are on a scale of 4 not 4.3.