Premed 101 Forums

Sleep Hours

Hey guys,

kinda new to this thread. A friend told me about it at uni.

Anyways, im a 1st year undergrad in Bio up here in Toronto. Just had a question about sleep hours. Ever since I got in uni, loads and loads of work like tests, quizzes, assignments, lab reports etc are being thrown at us (You guys know how it is). Anyways, due to this amount of work, almost every night, I get about 6 hrs of sleep. I don't feel that bad when I wake up but I generally tend to get tired around 2-3 pm during lectures. What I've seem to notice is that the majority of people in university tend to drink a lot of coffee. But....I'm an athletic guy who works out a lot and like to keep my body chemistry and hormone levels at their natural level (ask any bodybuilder, they don't drink coffee haha). Anyways so yeah, I don't really like drinking that stuff.

Since you guys have been through all this before, just wanted to know how many hours on average per day you guys would sleep in undergrad and whether that's changed much for you in med school.

I really do appreciate you med students taking the time out to answer the "noob" questions that undergrads present forward. Thanks to this website, we all have something to learn. You guys have no idea how many hours and hours I've spent reading through most of the threads already haha. Anyways so yeah. let me know what you guys think alright? Gotta go do a pre-lab. Peace.

Some people in my undergrad program drank coffee 3 times a day and kept telling me that they only slept 5-6 hours a night because they HAD to, otherwise they wouldn't be able to keep up with studying and their ECs. For me this was never a problem despite having several commitments including a part-time job. Therefore, unless you're actually working 15+ hours a week and have lots of ECs going on, then chances are you can afford to sleep a good 7 hours every night.