Premed 101 Forums

Health Studies or Biomedical Science at Waterloo

fefe

Hey guys!

I'm in my last year of high school and i'm stuck choosing between biomedical science or health studies. If any of you have had experience in these programs, please tell me about it!

I think i like waterloo, but if you have any other suggestions, i'd love to hear it:)

and if you've already graduated from these programs, what career options are there?!

Thanks everybody!

Health studies and biomed are completely different programs. Make sure you look at the courses you'll have to take for each program. Biomed is pure science whereas health studies requires you to take ethics, sociology, psychology and some pure science courses... Only first year level pure science courses are required so in upper years, its basically all health courses.

If you are a "science" person, go for biomed.

thank you for your reply! =D

i am a "science" person, but i also like health studies because they have the co-op option.

at first i wanted to take biomed because i was thinking about becoming an optometrist, but since they only accept 90/300 people, i think my chances are prettty slim...so now thats why i'm also looking towards health studies.

if i take biomedical sciences, what kind of career paths would i have?

i am a "science" person, but i also like health studies because they have the co-op option.

at first i wanted to take biomed because i was thinking about becoming an optometrist, but since they only accept 90/300 people, i think my chances are prettty slim...so now thats why i'm also looking towards health studies.

side note - you can also take honour science, follow the same biomedical program course path and eventually transfer into biomed.

Career paths include academic or industrial research, teaching, professional schools, technician, genetic counselor, nutritionist etc etc... you should be able to find the career options on their website.