Premed 101 Forums

MCCQE/USMLE equivalence

afolkl

Hi, I just have a quick question regarding licensing exams in the States and Canada. I know that the Steps I-III are now considered equivalent to MCCQEs 1 and 2, but that you've got to do a "suprevised" year of practice after finishing residency if you go this route. However, my situation is a little different: I'm a Canadian permanent resident at a US school. I'll have taken Steps I and II as part of my school's requirements for graudation, but I'm hoping to return to Canada for residency. What happens if I take Steps I and II, then the MCCQEII? Is that even possible? Or do I have to take the whole sequence (i.e. MCCQE I and II) in order to take MCCQE II?

I'm just hoping to avoid an extra 1,000 dollars in test fees, if at all possible.

Hi, I just have a quick question regarding licensing exams in the States and Canada. I know that the Steps I-III are now considered equivalent to MCCQEs 1 and 2, but that you've got to do a "suprevised" year of practice after finishing residency if you go this route. However, my situation is a little different: I'm a Canadian permanent resident at a US school. I'll have taken Steps I and II as part of my school's requirements for graudation, but I'm hoping to return to Canada for residency. What happens if I take Steps I and II, then the MCCQEII? Is that even possible? Or do I have to take the whole sequence (i.e. MCCQE I and II) in order to take MCCQE II?

I'm just hoping to avoid an extra 1,000 dollars in test fees, if at all possible.

Speaking for Ontario....

Unfortunately, the CPSO changed this in feb 2010 such that you'll need to take MCCQE 1+2 in order to apply for your independant license. You don't need MCCQE to do your residency in Canada but the problem is if you wait until your last year of residency to take them .. then you might find yourself going crazy studying for them.