Premed 101 Forums

Hey everyone!

So I'm an incoming student at McMaster, and it seems like a car is pretty key. I was wondering if you could all throw some financial input my way as to the best way to finance it while being mindful of OSAP etc. Obviously a huge purchase, and insurance will be enormous.

So. I understand I can expect a large, interest free LOC (correct?).

How does OSAP tend to go for med students? How much do people tend to get? Why do I want OSAP when I can throw stuff on my LOC (also interest free)?

How does a car affect OSAP (will a new civic cause me to get no osap at all)?

I really have no idea about any of this so ANY and all info on med school finances would be amazing!

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

i'm not sure about ontario, but here:

LOC is not interest free, it's prime, which i think is 3 percent right now.

i get ~22 k a year from alberta gov, 2.5 being bursaries

you want to put as much as you can on osap before you touch your bank loc, often when you graduate they forgive a portion of your loan if you've maxed the osap limit for your program, and you're not charged interest throughout school. when school is done if you have to start repaying osap just pay it off with your loc which would have the lower interest rate.

an 18000 dollar car is an asset, and will definitely effect how much you get, you could argue you need a car in clerkship as an ed expense but it doesn't have to be a new civic. i bought a new car and registered it under my dad's name and insured it under my name, therefore, i don't legally own the car and don't have to report it to student loans.

Hey everyone!

So I'm an incoming student at McMaster, and it seems like a car is pretty key. I was wondering if you could all throw some financial input my way as to the best way to finance it while being mindful of OSAP etc. Obviously a huge purchase, and insurance will be enormous.