Premed 101 Forums

International, non-trad and DESPERATE!!!

Guest LukaBR

Hello Everyone!!

First of all, thank you all the founders of this forum for the great initiative and sensitivity.

I am an international student (undergraduate Biology minor in Anthropology and International Relations) from Brazil [university of São Paulo]

I've chosen McGill since 1998, when I moved back to Brazil from Algeria and Sweden (we left Algeria because of the civil war, i lived there for almost 12 years).

I have been striving to do my best in every possible way, but all I've got is a mini-ridiculous internet application manual and thousand of problems.

The educational system here is totally non international-friendly, there is so much bureaucracy and many McGill requirementes simply DO NOT exist here. This are so different and my doubts are so many and overwhelming that I truly believe I was blessed to have found this e-spot.

God I have so many questions I don't know where to start from ... but lets see ....

GPA, here scale 0 to 10, there 0 to 4:

I read on the Black Book on Canadian Medical Schools that a 3.5 would be equal to an 8.0/10.

The main issue is that i I talked to the dean at my faculty and he said that there hasn't been in the 80 years history of the entire university a CGPA of 9.5/10. Our mean class scores are in general between 6.8 and 7.2 out of 10 and in most Brazilian universities it is similar. According to the undergraduate office here, grades between 7.0 and 8.0 are very good and everything above 8.0 is outstanding. I'm striving for a 8.2 and all my professors regard it as a very high score for our standards.

What I am trying to say is that I understand that McGill is extremely well receptive to international students, yet I believe that they use US and Canadian standards of scoring for the evaluation.