Premed 101 Forums

Same old Masters vs. 2nd UG

How to make the decision properly?

I graduated from UBC in 2010 with a Bachelor of Human Kinetics - my overall GPA is 77% (3.30) ... Prerequisites is 70% (3.0).

I know, I know, low ... I struggled with some pretty serious emotional stuff during my UG and I know now I will have to pay for it. I have figured out my stuff if you will and I am ready to really go for it because I am 100% positive Medicine is what I want.

NAQ's include:

- Research Coordinator and Research Assistant at VGH - Clinic (2009-2011)

- Resident Advisor/Social Coordinator - Vancouver Campus (2009-2011)

- Administrative Assistant at NGO Project HANDS in Guatemala (May 2011)

- Child Life Volunteer at BC Childrens Hospital (6 months between 2010-2011)

- Assistant Director of Intramural Leagues at UBCREC (2008-2009)

- ER & Diagnostic Imaging Volunteer at CGMH (2006 during Highschool, also summer 2008)

- Shadowed:

Dr. Masri, Head of Ortho at VGH & UBC (2010)

Dr. Mosher, Plastic Surgeon (2011)

Dr. Pahal, Surgeon (2011)

Dr. Lukauskis, Anesthesiologist (2011)

Dr. Maryniak, Anesthesiologist (2011)

I am in the process of writing my MCAT - August 23rd I go full tilt. I am finished all the course material at the end of this week and have 2-3 weeks of purely practise tests/overviewing etc. Fingers crossed.

But I need advice on what to do if it doesn't pan out this year. I am applying everywhere in Ontario and to UBC and perhaps several Californian schools.

I am also debating on applying for a:

MPH at UBC

MPT at UBC

M.Sc. in Nutrition

I am 23 years old - and realize that in order to do this - I am going to need to give about two more years. It's what I want for certain, so I am just unaware of the best way to get there. Masters or 2nd UG?

Sorry - I know this is repetitive - direct me to the appropriate source and I would love it!

Thanks so much in advance!