Premed 101 Forums

Please rate my EC /25

Hey! I know that no one except the admission officers know exactly how to evaluate the EC,but it is my first time applying,so I just hope someone is kind enough to give me a rough idea of what to expect. College: 1 summer full time paid research with 2 publications. Volunteer with heart and stroke foundation for 2 years. Hospital volunteer( with patient contact) started just April Tutor for one summer(SAT,science..). One university scholarship. High school: hospital volunteering( similar to what I did in college). President of a city council youth group

Hey! I know that no one except the admission officers know exactly how to evaluate the EC...
Exactly. Anywhere from 1-20+ depending on how you word your activities. It's virtually impossible for anyone outside the admissions committee to score you and anything otherwise would just lull you into a false sense of security.

Umm first of all I dont get this whole thing of people posting their ECs and expecting an exact answer from other premeds (and in your case also posting your name and grades)

Also as previously mentioned NO ONE here can give you an exact answer as no one here knows how UBC grades it. At the end of the day all you can do is just do your best to do what you think is beneficial to you and your interests and just hope that UBC Med would view that positively.

I think Mithrill is exactly right, that any response from people here would just give you a false sense of security (which is what I think you are looking for).

Also, AQ is based on the adjusted GPA from what I understand and if you have a 92 I would not worry about the AQ too much.

Re the Pubs I do think/ hope that they help but dont think that just because you have 2 publications you are automatically 10+ because I do not personally think that they show a well rounded student eventhough my application is also unfortunately centered around research as well.