Premed 101 Forums

Is this lab volunteering worth it

UBCStudent128

Hi, I'm a second year undergraduate student and I just started volunteering in a lab this september.

I realized that I wouldn't be doing 'significant' work but I feel that what I'm doing wouldn't be beneficial at all for my application.

I have never met the professor since the interview and basically work by myself. (With her assistant popping in from time to time). All I do is basically collect data, count cells under microscope. I like the fact that I get to experience lab environment, see cool new things but is this beneficial at all in my application if I've counted cells for 300 hours in a lab? Also I feel I can't even ask for reference letter from the professor since she's never really seen me. (Just seen my data)

Right now I don't know if I could even ask for a 'better' position because the professor is in the midst of getting a grant and basically I'm collecting data which will be part of her grant proposal.

So BASICALLY what I'm saying is

1) Is what I'm doing beneficial to my application?

2) Should I keep going ?

3) How do you think I could land a 'better' position even though they're in the midst of getting a grant?

You could ask your supervisor if it was possible for you to take on a bigger project over the summer. Volunteering in a lab is generally not very productive since most of your time is spent in class, but it allows students to get their toes wet before jumping into research. Do you like the research your lab does? Do you like the people in the lab? It doesn't hurt to approach your supervisor when they're not busy and just say "hey dr. _____, I'm really enjoying my time in the lab, and I was wondering if it was possible for me to work as a summer student". The worst he/she could say is "no" or "i'll have to see what my funding is like". Just make sure your prof KNOWS YOU'RE INTERESTED! Profs generally want to keep students who already have experience in their labs.