Premed 101 Forums

Extracurriculars for Pharmacy

Rani

I'm a first year student trying to get into pharmacy in my later years (U of t or waterloo).

ECs always look good on applications, however will volunteering at a hospital or pharmacy (if possible), improve my chances of getting into Pharmacy?

I never heard of anyone volunteering at a Pharmacy :S

from the waterloo website:

http://www.pharmacy.uwaterloo.ca/future-students/non-academic-requirements

Your reference will then submit the completed Reference Letter Form directly to the Registrar's Office at the university. This individual should preferentially be a Pharmacist, so that they can comment on your suitability for the profession. Alternatively, a Physician or Nurse may act as your reference. In any case, the individual completing this form cannot be a relative of yours.

So, after reading that, has anyone ever volunteered at a pharmacy before, or known anyone that has?

What kind of ECs do Pharm students usually take part in?

I'm a first year student trying to get into pharmacy in my later years (U of t or waterloo).

ECs always look good on applications, however will volunteering at a hospital or pharmacy (if possible), improve my chances of getting into Pharmacy?

I never heard of anyone volunteering at a Pharmacy :S

from the waterloo website:

http://www.pharmacy.uwaterloo.ca/future-students/non-academic-requirements

So, after reading that, has anyone ever volunteered at a pharmacy before, or known anyone that has?

What kind of ECs do Pharm students usually take part in?

My friend volunteered at a pharmacy, they weren't looking for volunteers but she just went in and asked if she could volunteer/do any sort of work around to help her in seeing if she likes the pharmacy field- I guess you just have to ask around!