Premed 101 Forums

Family med practice

Guest copacetic

Guest copacetic

hey has anyone ever seen any family med doctors run a regular appointment practice for say 8-3 and then from 3-8 run a drop in urgent care type thing out of the same office. that way you can see the complicated cases during the day and give each patient their due while seeing quick cases in the evening? is this reasonable or practical?

Yeah, that's how our clinic is run.

Appointments from 830-5, walk-in and urgent care from 5-8. As a PGY-5 resident, I mostly do walk-ins for the clinic, but I cheat and book some of my regular patients from 5-8. I tend to see 18-24 patients on average during this time, but can see up to 30 on busy nights. Of course, you can't have one doctor working all day as they would easily cap (50 patients in BC. After that the government pays 1/2 of your billings up to 65, after which they pay nothing). In Alberta though, some really hard working docs would do exactly as you describe, working from 8-8 at night, seeing 100 patients a day.

Seriously? WTF is with this cap business? I know that if I find out my work is capped, I'm going to stop working when the cap hits, and try to move to a place without a cap. I don't work for free unless I want to.

Yeah it sucks. They instituted this in the early 2000s. The BCMA did nothing about it.