Premed 101 Forums

Should I be banned from the forums?

AtomSmasher5

Should I be allowed to stay on the forums?  

1 member has voted

1. 1. Should I be allowed to stay on the forums?

• Yes
    • No
    • Unsure

Hey everyone.

I signed up for these forums about a month ago. I'm a Canadian medical student who has signed up just for fun - this is an interesting board to read with lots of intelligent people, unlike 99% of forums on the internet. Since then, a certain forum moderator has banned my account 4 times, giving me zero explanation for doing so.

Have I been trolling? No. Have I been offensive? No. I was banned for speaking my opinion. Although my beliefs are far from mainstream, they are far from deliberate trolling. Many people do not agree with me, and unfortunately one of those people is a certain forum moderator who keeps banning my account. Do people deserve to be banned for speaking their mind? Does censorship really allow for the most engaging, interesting online discussion community? I don't know about you, but I don't browse the internet in my spare time to read a rehash of the same old dominant train of thought that has been pounded into our brains since we were in diapers, by our teachers, parents, and the mainstream media. I read the internet to be exposed to a diversity of divergent points of view. Surely you can appreciate the merit to keeping an open mind and exposing yourself to a variety of points of view.

There is only one rule that I live my life by. This is not a rule that I was told by other people that I should live my life by. Rather, it is a rule that I have come up with myself to rebel against the mindless submission to the predominant view that most people engage in. Here's my #1 rule: always say what I mean. That is, I always say what I actually believe. I will never lie to you to give you the answer you want to hear.