Premed 101 Forums

Damn Depressed

Guest depressed

Guest depressed

Well I got me MCAT scores back....

7/11/12Q....this was my second time taking it....my last score that I got last April was 6/11/12Q.....

I took it a second time to improve my verbal skills and I thought I did really well...

This is really really discouraging and I don't think I want to write it in August...

Does anyone know what my chances are of getting into meds (specifically U of T, Mac, Ottawa, McGill)? I am an Ontario Resident

My current GPA (of 2 yrs) is 3.96 (90%)...I know thats pretty good and I shouldnt complain about it...its just that that verbal score is holding me back; or maybe Im just overreacting..

Yours truly,

Sad and depressed

Guest UWOMED2005

Neither Ottawa nor Mac look at MCAT scores. U of T has minimums of 8/8/8/N (and only uses the MCAT as a "flag") but I believe they've also stated they'll look at someone with a 7 if their application is "stellar" (I have no idea what that means.)

As for rewriting the exam, should you decide to do so. . . it looks like your verbal score is the only weak part. It is possible to improve that with practice! When I started studying for the MCAT, I was getting (estimated) scores from the prep exams of 6, 7 and 8. I just kept reading and writing practice exams (MANY practice exams), though, and in the end ended up with an 11. Is it possible for you to rewrite in August? (I don't know that myself).

Good Luck applying and if it comes to that, rewriting.

Guest From Ottawa

Hello sad and depressed. You should apply to at least Ottawa with those scores and good ECs you probably will get an interview.

Guest depressed

Hey I just wanted to say thanks for replying...nice to people care out there :)

As for replying, I dont think I could handle the stress...Im working full time right now...also, Ill be travelling to Greece for a month (leaving two days after Aug 18th)....