Premed 101 Forums

High School Success Means Nothing.

theboywho2

Written in many threads on these types of forums is the notion that high school marks are non indicative of success in university. You read about kids with 90s in high school receiving 70s in university. As well, the average high school student who finds that university compliments his or her learning style, thus allowing him or her to achieve higher grades. Yes, I know there is the potential for much distraction in university. As well, the idea of living with parents may allow some students to feel more free to engage in other activities besides learning. However disregarding distractions, how is the ability to preform exceptionally in university any different than in high school? Forgive my ignorance for I am only a grade 12 student, but I don't see how learning is different. You attend a class, you receive notes, you study them, and review the material, and you do well. I keep hearing the learning curve is steep, the transition is hard, and it will take time. To be honest, that is exactly what some senior level high school teachers told me in grade 9 and 10, about grade 11 and 12. I felt no jump in the learning curve.

If you work hard, stay focused, and ask questions, and are emotionally stable, I do not see why your marks from high should change in university. I feel that I have to put in a decent amount of work to achieve a mid-90 at my school. Does a 90 not represent effort, and ability to learn effectively? Or is high school just one big joke, and I have no idea what I am talking about? I look forward to your answers.