Premed 101 Forums

Entering Med School in 40's

Hi everyone, I just wanted to get a sense from everyone about a someone entering med school in their early 40's (this could either be me, or someone else....take a guess, haha)

I currently have 3 university degrees: (1) phys. ed. (aka kines - terrible gpa...these were the beer drinking years), (2) chemistry (basically from a mix of credits from phys ed degree + 2 more years. The 2 extra years was 3.85 GPA), and (3) Pharmacy 3.6 GPA overall (2 yrs at >3.7)

I am currently a pharmacist (last 8 yrs), but have always wanted to be a Dr (pharmacy was a backup plan that morphed into the 'only' plan). But I just don't feel fulfilled, and want to pursue what I've always wanted. I have a very comfortable salary, so money has nothing to do with it, and actually, I could most likely finish med school with little to no debt (already have a huge pot sitting there, plus could pay for a lot of it as I go through).

The main arguments that I hear (from the naysayers) is that I would go through x amount of years without being able to 'add to the pot', and only begin to make up for it several years down the road (Oh well, life's a *****).

The other is that people think I am borderline psychotic for wanting to work and study that hard at this stage of my life. To that I say, no way, I am only truly happy when working hard to achieve something. Which has become quite evident in my years since graduation, always trying to decide "ok, so I've achieved a/b/c at this point in my life, now where do I go from here?

Just wondering, 'borderline psychotic' or 'no brainer - Just do it!'?

What do you think?