Premed 101 Forums

Is my GPA competitive for Canadian schools?

Hello everyone,

I am new to this discussion forum, so please forgive me if I am posting on the wrong discussion board. Here is my brief profile

Citizenship: Canada - resident of B.C.

Year: Senior (4th year - graduating next month)

Institution: University of Chicago (don't think Canadian schools actually care)

Cumulative overall GPA: 3.80 (got a 3.5ish in my first year)

Average of best two years: 3.92

Most recent three years: 3.89

Cumulative science GPA: 3.74

I heard that the admissions processes for Canadian medical schools are pretty number-heavy. I heard that many even have strict GPA cut-offs.

I am just wondering, are my numbers competitive for Canadian medical schools? If so, what schools am I eligible for admissions?

My extracurricular activities are very decent if they actually mean anything to Canadian medical schools. I've gotten published three times (one first author on a very prestigious journal - just a bit below Nature and Science in terms of calibre). I have also presented my research six times at conferences throughout North America (one international calibre). I also have substantial leadership experiences and clinical experiences. I also won some awards for community service.

I appreciate your responses.

Hello everyone,

I am new to this discussion forum, so please forgive me if I am posting on the wrong discussion board. Here is my brief profile

Citizenship: Canada - resident of B.C.

Year: Senior (4th year - graduating next month)

Institution: University of Chicago (don't think Canadian schools actually care)

Cumulative overall GPA: 3.80 (got a 3.5ish in my first year)

Average of best two years: 3.92

Most recent three years: 3.89

Cumulative science GPA: 3.74

I heard that the admissions processes for Canadian medical schools are pretty number-heavy. I heard that many even have strict GPA cut-offs.