Premed 101 Forums

Engineers in medical school?

Hey everybody. I'm a third year biochemical engineering student, hoping to apply to med school next year. I was wondering if there are any current med students whose undergrad was in engineering. How are you guys finding medical school? Did you guys have any sort of advantage during the interview process because of your different background? I'd love to hear any insights you guys may have!

I am thinking of switching to Comp Sci. Would you say it is harder to get a good GPA in comp sci as compared to something like biology? If I switch I will not be able to take any other courses relevant to the MCAT. So rmorelan, how much did your choice of undergrad affect your GPA and MCAT preparation?

Nlegr did an Engineering UG and is now a resident.

It's def possible though not as common as other programs likely due to engineering being a good GPA killer for most people

That's correct. I was an engineer in a former (and younger) life.

Advantages:

-Engineering actually lets you get a real job that makes good money and has pretty good security.

-Fun program. Good camaraderie. People are encouraged to help each other.

-Great extra-curricular activities. If you like engineering, it's a blast.

-Work terms are paid, and usually paid well. I made enough money during undergrad to pay for my degree.

-Chance to travel and live somewhere new on a company's dime. I worked in another province, as well as in the North. I have worked in the Oil and Gas, mining, Pulp and Paper and Hydro-electric industries. It was fun, and I have a great understanding of lots of different things now.

-Unique education blends well into medicine. Engineering is about taking science and applying it to fix real world problems. You adapt your solutions to fit the real world situation. Just like medicine. Engineers tend to be much better at this early on in medical school than the science/arts undergrad med students (they eventually catch up).