Premed 101 Forums

Competitiveness of Internal Med Sub-specialties?

Hey everyone!

I would like to know how competitive or difficult it is to get into Internal Medicine sub-specialties such as Cardiology, Nephrology or Gastroenterology. I understand that you would first have to complete 3 years of post-graduate training in Internal Med before sub-specializing.

Would you say that the aforementioned sub-specialities are almost on the same competitive field as Dermatology, Plastics or Ophthalmology?

Thank you.

No near as competative as optho, plastics or derm. Almost everyone seems to get what they want, if they are flexible and willing to put in some effort to make themselves appealing.

Cardio and GI were the most competative last I heard. Nephro was middle teir. Things like rhem and endo are least competative.

Disclaimer: I am a surgical subspecialty resident, so I don't keep super close track of IM subspecialty stuff. It may have changed around and I'm not yet aware.

Judging by CaRMs stats of R3 match Cardio and Gastro seems to be the most competitive, with more 1st choice of disciplines than there are spots. Nephro has surprisingly way less 1st choice than there are spots, but that may be because of the job market. Looks like endo, allergy and geriatrics were not popular, followed by rhem.

https://www.carms.ca/pdfs/2012R4_MatchResults/R-4%20-%20table%203%20-%20Discipline%20Choices%20of%20Applicants_en.pdf

I'm not sure it's that surprising that nephro doesn't get as many applicants. It does pay pretty well, but between the putative job market and the generally inscrutableness of the kidney it makes sense. I expect that things like endo and rheum will get a bit more competitive in the future as they tend to "lifestyle" subspecialties. Resp* and heme are pretty tight too as it stands, and they're also popular.