Premed 101 Forums

Is age of applicant a major factor?

Hello everyone.

I'm considering applying to NOSM, but have a question.

First a bit of background:

-I am a Francophone.

-I grew up and graduated from French high school in a small northern Ontario community (pop. 5800, 89% French, RIO score 95).

-Did a 3 year Bachelor of Science conc. Biology in Ottawa (GPA 3.51).

-Did a 4 year Doctor of Chiropractic degree in Toronto (not sure if I'd be allowed the 0.2 GPA bump, it is a 4 year, 4200+ hour program).

-Moved back to my home town and have been practicing here for 15 years (my clinic is in the Family Health Team building with 6 M.D.'s and various other health care services).

-I have extensive experience with Francophone and Aboriginal patients.

-I perform pre-employment physical examinations for the 3 major wood industry mills in town.

-Volunteer work: I teach karate twice a week and judge in the annual karate tournament, I volunteer for various town activities, I do presentations on lifting technique, ergonomics, etc... to various organizations (School Board, Ministry of Natural Resources, saw mills, etc...).

-I would be coming back here to practice medicine (very deep roots here, my parents live here, I own a house here).

.....BUT.....

I'm 41 years old.

I was wondering if any of you know if my application would receive less consideration due to my age.

Thanks in advance for any information/input, and good luck to all!!!

Hello everyone.

I'm considering applying to NOSM, but have a question.

First a bit of background:

-I am a Francophone.

-I grew up and graduated from French high school in a small northern Ontario community (pop. 5800, 89% French, RIO score 95).

-Did a 3 year Bachelor of Science conc. Biology in Ottawa (GPA 3.51).

-Did a 4 year Doctor of Chiropractic degree in Toronto (not sure if I'd be allowed the 0.2 GPA bump, it is a 4 year, 4200+ hour program).