Premed 101 Forums

Waitlisters Unite! - Wait List Movement etc.

Thought that I would start a thread on the wait list, as it seems that most of the people who have decided to post in the Accepted/Rejected/Waitlisted thread are on it.

Not sure how it has worked in previous years but I envisioned this as a place were we can discuss movement, positions, plans for dropping off the list etc.

To start things off, I'm at position #24, and although I don't hold more than a sliver of hope that the list will move that far I would certainly accept if given the chance.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm at #10. This is my first time applying to NOSM so I never had the opportunity to follow such a discussion in the past. Based on previous years, what are reasonable expectations from the waiting list? Is there a "magic" number that determines if you are most likely to get an offer?

Thank you in advance for any information and good luck to all other applicants who were waitlisted.

Hey, I was on the waitlist last year so I, like you, was looking into this so I'll share what I was able to find. The least amount of movement that the wait list at NOSM has moved is 12 spots which was 2 cycles ago. So at 10, although nothing is guaranteed, your odds are pretty good. Last year the wait list moved through 19 people (ie: number 19 was the last to get in). In years before that I've only heard info from the forum but it seems it's normally in the high teens to low twenties range. Good luck! and remember to post if you get an offer to let others know that the list is moving.