Premed 101 Forums

Some Advice

Guest OU812

Guest OU812

Hello

My situation. I graduated with a Psych/Business degree low GPA 2.82 (Working full time, helping out my parents financially, paying for my sister's schooling and mine etc.)

However my last 2 full year equivalent is 3.7

and my last three full year equivelent is 3.65

The problem is that I did my degree part-time, each year was part-time so I don't think any of the good years will count.

Now my question is if I start a second degree to get all the science courses and get full time years, will my first degree count? Which schools will be more forgiving of my low GPA? Which schools if any would be willing to allow me to apply after two years of the new degree, even if the degree is not finished (for example Calgary?, Queen's?)?

Basically I was wondering what my best course of action should be at this point given my situation and my willingness to start another degree.

Secondly what kind of extra cirric stuff have people been involved in? I know s couple of friends that were accepted to Mac this year, and they did absolutely nothing at all outside of school, they never volunteered or had even held a part-time job or joined any school clubs. I was shocked:eek , I thought Mac really stressed outside activities. Their GPA's were really high though. Any advice on this topic would help as well.

Thanks alot everyone :)

Take Care

I did a second degree. Saskatchewan, Queens, Western and Ottawa are good to go if you start a new degree. I suggest you apply during your third year of your new degree. It is possible just work hard :)

Calgary will let you apply after a minimum of two full time years of study, so yes, you can get in well before the degree would be finished. I would check Calgary's site however (http://www.med.ucalgary.ca) about their policy for calculating GPA (ie, if they would still look at your previous work).