Premed 101 Forums

Gpa, Mcat Question

Hello

I am an Ontario resident and have started looking at OOP schools. I have two undergrad degrees and am confused as to how Saskatchewan med school will calculate my GPA - will it be entirely based on my second degree marks? I did an honours degree in 3 years for my second undergrad.

Also, for the MCAT, I found that they require a minimum of 30, I have a 31 with 10P,11V,10B. Should I apply with this MCAT? My GPA for my second undergrad comes to 86.4%.

Thank you

FutureDoctor 

They look at all your marks to calculate OOP GPA. All you need is 83. Once you meet the cut off, they don't look at your GPA again.

Additionally, I would say a minimum of 34 is required on the mcat. I would also wager a minimum of 36 will be required in a couple of years. They may interview extra OOPs for a year or two more while they wait for their IP students to catch up to their recent changes.

Grain of salt, but your mcat is much more suited for the Ontario schools (balanced).

Hello

I am an Ontario resident and have started looking at OOP schools. I have two undergrad degrees and am confused as to how Saskatchewan med school will calculate my GPA - will it be entirely based on my second degree marks? I did an honours degree in 3 years for my second undergrad.

Also, for the MCAT, I found that they require a minimum of 30, I have a 31 with 10P,11V,10B. Should I apply with this MCAT? My GPA for my second undergrad comes to 86.4%.

Thank you

FutureDoctor 

Hi FD, 

Unfortunately your MCAT is not strong enough for Saskatchewan. This year OOP applicants needed a 34 with a minimum VR11 to even get an interview! 

GPA is irrelevant for Sask in pre-interview evaluation as long as it is above 83% (Pre-interview formulae is 100% MCAT)

Your VR11 will be great for Mac and Calgary though. 

Thank you for clarifying. I will for sure apply to Ontario schools.