Premed 101 Forums

How Far Off Am I From Getting Into Dental School In Canada?

First off, congrats to all those who have gotten interviews and/or been accepted into Dental school during the current application cycle!

I could use some honest guidance/opinions as to what I should do to better myself for future application cycles in Canada:

- I am a 4th year student at Western 

- I only applied to UWO Dentistry this year and was declined an interview

Year 1 = 81% or 3.56 GPA

Year 2 = 89.05% or 3.91 GPA

Year 3 = 85.5% or 3.85 GPA

Year 4 = 87% or 3.84 GPA ***Good estimate

*Also took English/essay course in summer 2015 and got mark of 73

DAT, written in Feb 2015 - RC (20), Bio (21), Chem (19), AA (20), PAT (21)

--> I applied to UWO Dentistry with my best 2 year average of 87.275% and the DAT scores above

--> I believe that Part 1 of my Personal Statement was good/strong (have nothing to compare it to though), though I'm thinking now that my Part 2 was weak

Volunteering + other info:

1) Prepared and served breakfast to those less fortunate, summer of 2014 on 7-8 occasions (under a certain organization that will remain nameless)

2) Teaching assistant (not paid) for one semester (2 hours per week) in the cadaver anatomy lab

3) Varsity athlete in Year 1 + team volunteering opportunities (2 or 3)

4) Hold a leadership position at a Toastmasters club ***As of Feb 2016, so was not on application

5) Shadowed 2 separate dentists back home for a combined 15 hours

6) Research = None

7) Had Jaw surgery in Summer of 2014 to resolve my life-long jaw pain - this is what has made me passionate about dentistry

--> After talking to reception at UWO Dentistry, she seemed to emphasize that they are really moving away from marks and towards well-rounded people in the current year and in the future