Premed 101 Forums

Why Would You Choose Macmaster Over Anywhere Else?

Just curious to know what makes Mac someone's top choice. It seems like such a unique school that I am sure there are lots of reasons someone would go to Mac even if they got in elsewhere.

Current students can also chime in with why they chose (or why someone else should)!

As a non-traditional, older applicant, I am drawn to McMaster's unique curriculum. I have extensive health care experience and I have demonstrated quite a bit of initiative in my career, so the PBL style is appealing to me at this point in my life. My undergraduate degree had a more traditional teaching style, and I was in class Mon-Fri 8-4, and it was draining and I felt like a prisoner.

Also, Hamilton is a bit more central, so it's convenient for my spouse who is currently looking for work throughout Canada. And we have lived in Hamilton in the past and enjoy Hamilton and it's quirky neighbourhoods. We have good friends in Toronto, family and friends in eastern Ontario and Western Quebec, so living in Hamilton allows us to be closer to our loved ones.

McMaster is my top choice, but I just did the MCAT today and I choked in the CARS section, so we'll see how things unfold in the coming weeks. Derp.

I wouldn't. 

Yep. I feel like Mac is so different that it's either everything you want, or everything you don't want. I'm definitely in the latter group as well, because I have no idea what specialty I want to do, and the 3 years combined with the electives before core rotations setup is not exactly ideal compared to other schools. Being straight out of undergrad, time isn't an issue for me. I also prefer a more 'family' feel to the programs, especially being far from my own home, which isn't the impression I've gotten from the large class+only small group sessions

However, i absolutely see the appeal for non-trad applicants, or those who have a strong idea of what they want to pursue.