Premed 101 Forums

Canadian in UK medical school- options for coming home?

I'm hoping to get some advice about what my next steps should be. I'm currently in my second year of medical school...but in the UK. However, due to personal and financial reasons I would really like to come home to Canada for my education. Ideally, I would apply to medical school in Canada but I don't know how competitive of an applicant I would be and am therefore hesitant to leave my current medical school. My undergrad degree was in medical science (honours) with a 3.6 GPA and was completed in Canada. I was also involved in research and published a few papers. I've considered doing a public health masters before applying to medical school in Canada to strengthen my application but I don't know how much this would help me. Ultimately, my goal is to be a practicing doctor in Canada. I'm just very torn about whether it would be better to put the effort into applying for Canadian medical schools or finish in the UK and try to come back by matching into a Canadian residency position. Any suggestions or advice on what I could do in my situation would be very much appreciated. 

Why not apply to canadian medical schools, while maintaining your UK enrolment?

Are you in a 4 year or 5/6 program in UK? What program? A100?

If youre already in 2nd year of a 4 year program, it makes sense to just stick it out and enter via residency.  Probably shouldve had these thoughts before you went abroad though? 

I'm just starting the 2nd year of a 5 year program (A100). And when I started I was prepared to go abroad for the full duration of my schooling and then apply for a residency position back in Canada. However, I've had some issues in my family that have put me in a tough spot and I'm just trying to explore what options I have now. 

8 minutes ago, canmed456 said: