Premed 101 Forums

Stress level

Medical students/residents/staffs, on a scale of 1 to 10 how much work/study related stress do you have to deal with on a daily basis? Has it changed throughout time?

And how do you try and manage that stress?

It would also be nice to mention your specialty, if you have any.

Currently, absolutely 0 but I’m on mat leave. 

There have been a few periods here and there when things have been rough, but the overall trend has been that I haven’t found my training terribly stressful. It’s been quite enjoyable for the most part. Good time management goes a long way, and keeping going with your life outside of medicine as much as possible. 

I’m someone who thrives with a lot to do, though. Everyone else seems to think I’m busier than I feel like I am. I’m a family med resident, though as I said I’m currently on leave so only had a few months before I was off. 

I'm staff in a surgical specialty at a rural secondary care hospital. 

I'm back in my hometown with my family this weekend so zero stress except when I think about having to return to the town where I work (my family will come back with me).

Unlike residency, where lack of control and study stress dominated your life, I find my biggest sources of stress now are:

1. Hospital administration, especially non physician admin. Most of them are terrible managers and make decisions that make no sense from a financial and/or management POV. They do make lots of sense from a personal feelings, petty politics or plain old "I have no idea what I am doing" POV. They have also taken actions in the past which directly effect me or my patients without asking my opinion before taking the actions, or informing me that the action has been taken once it occurs.