Premed 101 Forums

UBCDream

As an undergrad science student I met a PhD student while I was doing a lab project whose exact words were “grad school is where med school dreams go to die.”

i suspect he was one of the people he was talking about, and bitter and cynical because he did not get in. 

Grad students have their motivations to say what they want. Sometimes there is this divide, whereby grad students who really want to do grad school look down on those who mention they have applied or intend to apply to medicine...as if the latter group weren’t really committed to grad school or something.

as a result, most keep these dreams close to the chest to avoid unnecessary drama.

ultimately, do what you want. Let haters hate. 

I know a lot of undergrads that decided to do some sort of Masters when they couldnt get accepted to medschool. I was one of them. I did my Masters because I had an interest in medical research and would like that to be a part of my career in the future. Also I began my Masters knowing that I would apply again for medschool after I am done. It was difficult to apply during my Masters and it was looked down by most people around me. 

Long story short: Some grad students who have their heart set on medicine will continue to apply. Some of them got into gradschool cause they didnt know what else to do. Some had a genuine interest and thought it would be a good use of their time and potentially strengthen their future medschool application. 

3 hours ago, acacna said:

I know a lot of undergrads that decided to do some sort of Masters when they couldnt get accepted to medschool. I was one of them. I did my Masters because I had an interest in medical research and would like that to be a part of my career in the future. Also I began my Masters knowing that I would apply again for medschool after I am done. It was difficult to apply during my Masters and it was looked down by most people around me.