Premed 101 Forums

to pursue a 2nd undergrad or a master's degree?

Hi Everyone,

Sort of a non-trad applicant here, hoping to get some guidance from all you awesome people! 

Stats:

MCAT = 511

GPA = 3.5

EC: tutor ESL, leadership position of a student group for several years (when i was a student), volunteered with marginalized youth, volunteer with global health related student group, position on the board of a women's leadership organization, lots of travel,  some research experience (no publications so I am not sure how relevant this experience is at this point), a few awards from my time as a student, lots of valuable personal experiences

Other relevant information: I am an allied health professional which is great since it gives me a lot of relevant work experience, however given the competitive nature of the program, my GPA definitely took a hit (I also didn't realize that I wanted to pursue medicine until a bit later)! I have applied twice at this point with no interview invites and I'm feeling like I'll have to improve my GPA to have a real shot. I am currently debating going back to school for a 2nd undergrad or a master's program! I feel like a 2nd undergrad would directly help out my GPA but I also feel like a master's program is a great opportunity for me to delve deeper into something I am already passionate about. Although this topic has already been addressed in this forum, I am hoping to get some solid advice pertaining to my specific situation!

Cheers :)